Search Menu

2nd Annual Roundtable on Innovation, IP & Competition

The 2nd Annual Roundtable on Innovation, Intellectual Property and Competition was held on the 1st of July 2017 in Bangalore in Hotel Taj Westend.  It was attended by academicians, legal practitioners from India and subject experts from around the world.

The Roundtable was flagged off by a welcome address by Prof. (Dr) Ranbir Singh, following which the sessions commenced.

The first session entitled  Innovation Policy: What can it Teach IP Policy-Making in India? was moderated by Prof. (Dr) Shamnad Basheer.  The other participants included Dr. Shubhashish Gangopadhyay, Dr. Chirantan Chatterjee, Prof. Anil K Gupta [via video link] and Mr. Ananth Padmanabhan.

The second session titled, Role of IP and Competition Policy in Technology Markets: Business and Industry Perspectives was moderated by Prof. Jay Kesan.  The other participants included Mr. Atul Jain, Dr. Sheetal Chopra, Dr. S.K. Murthy, Ms. Latonia Gordon and Dr. Kirti Gupta.

The third and final session for Day-1, titled Patent Remedies in a state of flux: Principles and Practice was moderated by Hon’ble Justice Prathiba M. Singh from the Delhi High Court.  This panel consisted of Prof. (Dr.) Shamnad Basheer, Ms. Bitika Sharma, Dr. Rafal Sikorski, Dr. Feroz Ali and Mr. Sandeep Rathod.

Justice Prathiba M. Singh, the keynote speaker at the roundtable, gave a short lecture on “India’s Evolving IP Jurisprudence – Indigenous, Ingenious or Both?” at a short reception held in the evening which was followed thereafter by dinner.

Day 2 began early with Session IV on the topic IP and Competition Law in India: Regulatory and Judicial Interventions. The panel was moderated by Mr. Augustine Peter and consisted of Ms. Geeta Gouri, Mr. Anand Pathak, Mr. Prashant Reddy, Mr. Vaibhav Gaggar and Mr. Kailas Karthikeyan.

The concluding session on the topic was called Standard-Essential Patents: Adjudicating FRAND in India from a Comparative Perspective and was moderated by Prof. (Dr) T. Ramakrishna. The panel consisted of Prof. Jay P. Kesan, Prof. Jorge Contreras, Mr. Rajiv Kr. Choudhry and Mr. J. Sai Deepak.

The photos from the event are available here.

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked *.